The Programme "PRO - Local Governance for People and Nature" is jointly implemented by the United Nation Serbia agencies - UNOPS, UNICEF, UNFPA and UNEP, with the support of the Government of Switzerland through the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation. All activities are carried out in partnership with the Government of Serbia and in coordination with the key line Ministries, in line with national strategic, legislative and development documents, which contributes to sustainability and ensures national and local ownership over the processes.


The Government of Switzerland, through the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, finances the Programme with 9 million euros.



The Programme is jointly implemented by four United Nation Serbia agencies, with co-funding in the total value of 1 million euros.

United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)


The Programme is implemented in cooperation with key national partners:

  • Ministry of Public Administration and Local Self-Government (MPALSG)
  • Ministry of Labour, Employment, Veteran and Social Affairs (MLEVSA)
  • Ministry of Environmental Protection (MEP)

Certain Programme activities will be implemented with the support of partner institutions and organisations:

  • Office for IT and eGovernment (OITeG)
  • National Academy for Public Administration (NAPA)
  • Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities (SCTM)
  • French Development Agency (AFD)
  • European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

Activities are carried out in continuous consultation with relevant institutions at the national level:

  • Ministry of Human and Minority Rights and Social Dialogue (MHMRSD)
  • Ministry of European Integration (MEI)
  • Ministry of Tourism and Youth (MoTY)
  • Ministry of Family Welfare and Demography (MFWD)
  • Minister Without Portfolio in Charge of the Development of Underdeveloped Municipalities
  • Serbian Environmental Protection Agency (SEPA)
  • Public Policy Secretariat (PPS)
  • Republic Institute for Social Protection (RISP)
  • Coordination Body for Gender Equality (CBGE)
  • Commissioner for the Protection of Equality (CPE)